• www.jetbox.aero

Dirty, rotten bas**rds!!

Stock Photo

Stock Photo

I was always of the opinion, that certain things would remain off limits to vandalism and theft – Fast cars, boats and helicopters. I worked on the misguided belief that these items were protected by the admiration for the item of the would be offender. I live in a dream world!

A fellow aviator huddie (Helicopter bUDDIE) with whom I correspond, but have never personally met, has recently had his helicopter broken into and his spare GPS, an iPod and fire extinguisher were stolen from within it. Contrary to reports in the press his machine was locked and appropriately parked in a secure area that he regularly uses. Although the chopper featured in the press reports is an immaculate EC-135 it is actually an immaculate Robbo that he owns.

I do know people who do not lock their machines; the theory being that the damage that would be caused by actually breaking in would be substantial and expensive and it’s simpler to leave the doors unlocked. I understand the sentiment, but I don’t subscribe to it personally.

Worse still, these scroats tried to start the engine. It beggars belief that these idiots, these absolute mindless scu**ags tried to get the machine going. Did they really believe that they were going to get it airborne or were they simply trying to cause it further damage.

I understand that the local Police have a postive lead on the villains and may be in a position to make an arrest shortly. I only fear that, if found and prosecuted, they will not receive an appropriate punishment (like a 5 year custodial sentence for interfering with an aircraft)  from the courts.

Personally, I would happily offer to save the taxpayer some money and find an alternative way to punish these offenders. Underslung loads and autorotations to the ground spring to mind.

One Response

  1. Let them have a flight with flight academy! that will be suitable enough!

Leave a comment