• www.jetbox.aero

The Barn (Cheshire)

IMG_0135_1

As many of you know, I’m always looking for somewhere new to take clients for lunch. I read various magazines and if I see one that looks good, I take a look on Google Earth to see if there’s any likelihood that there is somewhere to drop in, in the JetBox.

IMG_0130 I’d read about The Barn back in October and I e-mailed them way back then to ask if it would be O.K. to descend on them. I received a swift positive response together with some aerial shots from Google Earth and a position on Google Maps also. Very helpful indeed even though I’d already sussed it out.

Regrettably I simply haven’t had the opportunity to visit until today. I’m only sorry I didn’t go sooner, but it was definitely worth the wait. Though I can guarantee I will not be waiting as long for the next visit.

The Barn is situated in Bridge Trafford, 4 miles North East of Chester, and is a recently converted 400 year old barn on an old dairy farm. (Which I presume is why there is a replica Cow in the car park!)

On arrival I was greeted by the owner, Sam, and a Maitre’d who both made us feel very welcome. On entering the restaurant, we immediately knew that we had chosen well. The renovation/conversion is simply stunning and clearly no expense has been spared on the decor. It has a warm ambience to the place and although I’m no interior designer it has a very contemporary feel about the place yet still manages to retain the rural farm yard feel to it.

photo1244392585810 My Mrs and I love traditional Sunday lunches and we were given the choice of Lamb or Beef. We ordered one of each. These were served soon afterwards and I have to say both were absolutely culinary delights. I am very partial to good food and there was absolutely no disappointment here. Both were cooked to “melt in the mouth” perfection and there were generous helpings of Roast Potatoes, a rich gravy and vegetables. I’m not a food critic either so I’m going to leave it there, but suffice to say the food is fantastic, and for me it gets 5 stars especially as they built us an HLS in our coffee!!!

For the Aviators

The Barn is situated just inside Liverpool’s CTR so you will need a clearance. It’s very easy to find and the co-ordinates are 53.14.07N, 002.49.61W (Grid reference SJ 452 712). There is no designated HLS, but there is a lawn large enough for a single helicopter. There is also a large car park which could be used if necessary. There are a few cables dotted about, but they’re clearly visible and nothing to worry about. The approach is easy enough as it backs onto plenty of open fields, but you will realistically only be able to park in one direction.

Contact Information

The Barn can be contacted on 01244 303100 and is open daily for Lunch and Dinner. See their website www.thebarncheshire.co.uk for sample menus and further details.

5 Responses

  1. Hello
    My name is Louise Rice and I look after the marketing & Pr for The Barn, Cheshire. Sam Sharter e-mailed me your story tonight and we would love to put something up on our site and possibly in the local press too. Is there any way you could send me a high resolution copy of the pictures in your article and also with your blessing allow me to use your comments to put together our press release ?
    Any problems / questions please e-mail me as above or simply call me on 01625 250 270.
    Many thanks
    Louise Rice

    Brandelation Ltd
    On behalf of The Barn

  2. Dropped into The Barn for lunch today with Mike B. couldn’t resist after reading your blog I have to say it’s a great place, I’m sure i’ll become a regular visitor in G-LADZ

  3. I love it when Joel ‘checks out’ a place first for other heli pilots to visit! We flew into The Barn today and it was great. Lovely welcome from the staff and even better lunch in the sun overlooking our heli – which was parked perfectly on the lawn – even though I say so myself! Will definately go back with more time to spare.. no room for more than one heli but if anyone fancies a mass fly-in, The Barn will accommodate everyone by partially blocking off the car park by prior arrangement. Well worth it!

  4. That’s a bloody good idea. We’ll try and get a fly. It’s not too far for people either.

  5. The Barn (Cheshire) .Thanks for nice post.I added to my twitter.

Leave a comment